Spaces provide you with the flexibility to work and collaborate in a way that works best for you and your organization - whether it's a different Space for each project, your team or a one-off task.
When you log into Data Studio for the first time, you will enter your personal Space, called Your Space. Every user has their own personal user space which is only accessible to them and can't be edited or deleted.
Typically, most of the work you do in Data Studio won't be done in this personal but in a shared Space which may represent a specific project, your team, or a task.
Additionally, each Environment has its own System Space which is created upon Environment creation.
The System Space is used to store default Space-scoped objects (e.g. Find duplicates step settings - rules and blocking keys).
By default, this Space can only be managed by the Environment administrator but this can be modified to allow other users to manage it. However, it can be accessed in read-only mode by the 'All users' group.
When a new Space is created, it's automatically populated with all shared objects from the System Space. When a new globally shared object is added to the System Space, it's automatically included in all existing Spaces.
Default Space-scoped objects
When you create a Space, you will define the name, and who has access to the contents.
When creating or editing a Space, you can optionally give other users or groups access to it. You can assign the following permissions to each user:
It's therefore important to think about which Spaces you want to create in order to provide the appropriate level of granularity when securing Datasets or other Data Studio objects.
To access all the Spaces available to you, click on the drop-down arrow in the Space menu at the top of the screen and click View all Spaces.
Workflows, Views and Functions created in one Space can be shared with other Spaces: